A Day in the Life of a Carnivore…

10 Aug

Warning to vegetarians – reader discretion is strongly advised! Last night (Tuesday), I had the pleasure of having dinner at the most well-known restaurant in Kenya – Carnivore. The dean of Colorado State University’s business school happened to be in town and Scott and him invited me to come along. I’d read a lot about the place, and it did not disappoint.

Upon entrance, I noticed a huge charcoal pit at the center of the restaurant. On that pit a wide variety of meats were roasting on traditional Masaii (a group of nomadic Kenyans/Tanzanians) cooking swords. Here’s a pic of Scott and I and a pic of just me so you can see the pit better in the background!

We sat in the outdoor seating area, making me feel like I’d just finished a long day safari-ing. After soup and bread, several waiters begin bringing meat to your table. They ask you, “Chicken?” and upon an affirmative reply, they plop a Masaii sword down on your cast-iron plate and dish you a piece!

Here’s a picture of a waiter serving me some crocodile. It looks a bit like he is about to sever my head from my body!

In addition to croc, I consumed beef, chicken, pork, lamb, barbequed ribs, sausage, ostrich meatballs, and camel! Yes, you heard me right. CAMEL! I felt a little bad whilst eating the camel (something just didn’t seem right about it!), but my dinner companions assured me that camels are nasty, ornery creatures that spit at people.

I washed down the meal with one of Kenya’s most popular lagers – Tusker.

There is a tiny flag standing at each table, and when we couldn’t take anymore (and by we, I mean the CSU dean and me, since Scott is a vegetarian), we took the flag down, “surrendering” to any more food!

I don’t think I’ll be hungry for a couple of weeks.

On the subject of food, I thought I’d share a picture of my lunch today (Wednesday) – pasta, ugali (maize porridge), kale, and tilapia!

Work update – work has been a bit slow the past two days, which I think is mostly a function of the manager being on vacation. She is supposed to get back tomorrow – I have yet to meet her. In the meantime, I have begun taking on a couple of projects myself – installing and setting up Quickbooks accounting software to manage finances and converting posterboard presentation materials into a Powerpoint file.

Today, we visited a resource center for HIV+ individuals. Maono donated food including flour, eggs, and beans. Then we visited a vacation bible school in Mathare, another slum in Nairobi. When we entered, the kids were in the middle of a fierce game of some kind – split into two teams, half the room was chanting “Lion” and the other half “Buffalo.” I’ve never heard children scream that loud! This picture fails to capture the energy in the room or the number of children (over 50), but here is several of them coloring –

Maono donated colored pencils to the children and, more importantly, food vouchers (similar to WIC) to the parents of the children.

Looking forward to meeting the Maono manager, Daisy, tomorrow!

7 Responses to “A Day in the Life of a Carnivore…”

  1. mary ellen August 10, 2011 at 10:42 pm #

    Hi Ben, Just saw your blog for the 1st time from the global village newsletter. Sounds like you’ve already had a wealth of great experiences. The food you’ve had sounds so good. I was interested in your mentioning the tomato tree juice. I once mail ordered some tomato tree seeds and grew one but never got it to bloom and produce fruit.
    Keep us informed about what you’re eating.
    Cheers,
    Mary Ellen

    • Ben August 11, 2011 at 12:23 am #

      Hi Mary Ellen! I’ve experienced and learned so much already. The food has been amazing – the usual dinner is white rice, cabbage or kale, plaintain, and beef/lamb stew. I think I’ll add a few pounds to my belly while I’m here! I hope you get a chance to try tomato tree juice sometime…it is so good. Thanks for following my blog! All the best, Ben

  2. Dave Fisher August 13, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Ben, I agree with Dave’s reply to your Facebook post of your Blog. I truly enjoy seeing how people actually live in Africa. This will definitely give you a better perspective on life when you get back to the States.

    • Ben August 15, 2011 at 12:16 am #

      Happy to hear you’re enjoying the blog, Dave! My perspective has already changed greatly and after a year it will be even more so.

  3. ann990 August 14, 2011 at 12:42 am #

    Hi Ben, Reaading this post caused me to eat a Five Guys burger and fries. What are we having for dinner tomorrow? The chef here is still out of town.

    • Ben August 15, 2011 at 12:14 am #

      Ann, I’m happy to have encouraged you to have a feast of hamburger and fry. Best of luck managing meals until he returns – Panera is always a good option!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. View From the Top « Jambo Nairobi! - October 19, 2011

    […] night, I attended a rap/hip-hop concert on the grounds of Carnivore. The headline act was Flavour, with his song Sawa Sawa Le. This song is currently the #1 played […]

Leave a Reply

